Return to Headlines

2020-21 Varsity Athletes Recognized at Awards Ceremony

Cato-Meridian Varsity sports athletes were recently recognized for their achievements during the 2020-21 year during a ceremony at the Junior-Senior High School stadium. Awards were compiled into a video and are also listed below.


Team Awards

Field Hockey
Coaches Award: Mackenzie Ray
Most Improved: Kennedy Pelkey
MVP: Hannah Janes

Fall Cheer
Coaches Award: Jayden Kelly
Most Improved: Evelyn Burns
MVP: Elizabeth Myers

Coaches Award: Ethan Scanlon
MVP: Gavin Bartholomew

Boys' Indoor Track
Coaches Award: Kyle Allen
MVP: Jordan Greene

Girls' Indoor Track
Coaches Award: Ariana Proper
MVP: Grace Cady

Boys' Basketball
Coaches Award: Kobey Noeller
Most Improved: Carter Abate
MVP: Konar Witkowski

Girls' Basketball
Coaches Award: Julia Wilson
Most Improved: Grace Cady
MVP: Hannah Janes

Winter Cheer
Coaches Award: Maggie McGetrick
Most Improved: Brianna Broadwell
MVP: Caitlyn Short

Coaches Award: Jocelyn Kolb
Most Improved: Mya Schneider
MVP: Monica Cardinale

Boys' Outdoor Track
Coaches Award: Jordan Greene
MVP: Merritt Cox
Newcomer of the Year: Justin Baldwin

Girls' Outdoor Track
Coaches Award: Anna Muhlnickel
MVP: Grace Cady
Newcomer of the Year: Julia Wilson

Coaches Award: Kaydence Morrissette
Most Improved: Sophia Kelly
MVP: Jocelyn Kolb

Pitcher's Award: Ethan Weller
Catcher's Award: Tylor Wheeler
Highest Batting Average: Cody Loveless
Steeping Up as a Freshman: Carter Impson and Brandon Johnson

Senior Plaques: Carter Abate, Carl Alinsoring, Kyle Allen, Donovan Anderson, Gavin Bartholomew, Malana Bartoszewski, Grace Cady, Monica Cardinale, Gavin Clarke, Katie Colarocco, Samantha Cooper, Ethan Divelbliss, Cheyenne Ducharme, Kaliess Evans, Thomas Fabrizio, Osjamell Freeman, Anthony Gleason, Schuyler Goodwin, Connor Griffin, Joshua Hulsizer, Nathanial Hunter, Elaine Hurd, Hannah Janes, Jayden Kelly, Roman Lewandowski, Anna Muhlnickel, Elizabeth Myers, Kobey Noeller, Cilas Oot, Kennedy Pelkey, Brett Pickett, Mackenzie Ray, Ethan Scanlon, Alana Schneider, Richard Sherman, Caitlyn Short, Logan Simons, Mackenzie Snyder, Micah Stavenhagen, Sydney Stevens, Grace Stryker, Marcus Turo, Kyleigh Walton, Ethan Weller, Tylor Wheeler, Tryssa Wilson-Hemler, Konar Witkowski, and Emily Woods.

Senior Cup: Presented to students who have participated in a minimum of nine Varsity sports during their High School careers. The following students have earned a Senior Cup based on this criteria: Gavin Bartholomew, Grace Cady, Hannah Janes, Jayden Kelly, and Mackenzie Ray.

Scholar-Athlete Teams: In order to qualify as a Scholar-Athlete team, 75 percent of a team's roster must average an overall GPA of 90.00 or higher. The following teams were named Scholar-Athlete teams: Field Hockey, Fall Cheerleading, Boys' Indoor Track, Girls' Indoor Track, Girls' Basketball, Winter Cheerleading, Boys' Outdoor Track, Girls' Outdoor Track, and Softball.