Return to Headlines

Fifteen Students Inducted into National Honor Society

The Cato-Meridian National Honor Society (NHS) recently inducted 15 students in a memorable ceremony, where they were recognized for their exceptional character, scholarship, leadership, and service.

On Thursday, March 24, students and their loved ones filed into the rows of the auditorium and were welcomed by current NHS President Abigail Kennedy. NHS advisors Bridgit Johnson and Veronica Gloo praised the students for their outstanding success both in and out of the classroom. Dr. Terry Ward, Superintendent of Schools, echoed their remarks.

"The potential on this stage for our world in the future is amazing and exciting," Ward said.

Cato-Meridian Board of Education President Paul Byrne and Junior-Senior High School Principal Amy Molloy added that these students have overcome so many obstacles during their high school careers, specifically rising above the challenges of COVID-19 to achieve greatness.

Current NHS members introduced new inductees and explained some of the traits that made them an ideal candidate for National Honor Society. Each new inductee lit a candle and signed the pledge before sitting next to the current NHS members on the stage. 2022 inductees were: Evelyn Burns, Mason Carvey, Merritt Cox, Miranda Dennis, Elizabeth Hess, Audrey Hunter, Riley Jones, Denis Kosiakov, Kaylee LaPrease, Maggie McGetrick, Ariana Proper, Cyrus Russell, Caton Wilbert, Janelle Williams, and Julia Wilson.

After the ceremony, inductees and their families were treated to a reception in the lobby.

New and current NHS members pose for a photo in the auditorium

New inductees pose for a photo in the auditorium

A Cato-Meridian student lights a candle

A Cato-Meridian student lights a candle